

February 2025 Administrators' Steering Committee Report to the ADFM Board and Membership

Holly Westog (Chair) Amanda Williams (Chair-Elect)

2024 ADFM Department Administrator Leadership

Chair; ADFM Board Member	Holly Westog, Medical College of Wisconsin
Chair-Elect; ADFM Board Member	Amanda Williams, University of Pennsylvania
ADFM Finance Committee member	Megan McGhean, Oregon Health and Science University
Preconference Chair	Jill Borrall, University of Iowa
Preconference Co-Chair	Lacey Owens, UT San Antonio
Membership Chair	Jen Egan, Ohio State University
Membership Co-Chair	Hayley Evans, University of Illinois, Chicago
Member at Large	Beth Zinda, Rush University
Member at Large	Roger Roper, Accountable Care Strategies, Carilion Clinic
Member at Large	Stephanie Barnett, University of Alabama
Nominations Chair	Annamalai Ramanathan, Medical College of Georgia

2024 Steering Committee Summary:

Our goal over the past year was to grow our network of administrators. We discussed numerous ideas including expanding the network to include other administrative professionals involved in family medicine. This is an ongoing discussion to promote the FM specialty and advance primary care strategies nationwide. We continue to successfully connect virtually and through the ADFM listserv. This group has worked on the Administrators' Preconference with a robust agenda for 2025. We are very proud of the committee's commitment to ADFM, our institutions, and most importantly the communities we serve.

2024 Department Administrator Participation:

The Administrator Chair and/or Chair-Elect participated in all ADFM board meetings held throughout the year. Holly and Amanda actively participated in the November board meeting held in Atlanta. We believe strongly in the dyad partnership between Chair and DA. The

inclusion of the DAs on the board demonstrates the organization's continued support of this relationship.

A significant change was made in the timing of the administrators' business meeting. It was moved to the administrators' preconference day. It sparked more interest and continued discussion with those who were present. It appears to have increased participation in virtual meetings in 2024 as well.

ADFM had 95 registered Department Administrators in 2024. This is down from 101 DA members in 2023. This is a small figure that can be attributed to the open FM DA positions across the country. The downward number did not trend for the administrators' preconference. Participants were up at 52 in 2024 versus 38 in 2023. That number rose slightly to 54 DAs in attendance at the annual conference in 2024 versus 41 in 2023. Financial mitigation remains as institutions have seen a decrease in funding alongside a decrease in enrollment (varied by type of institution). Overall, this is very good news and shows a strong connection to ADFM and the annual conference.

Lastly, the committee was in favor of changing the name "mentorship program" to a "peer partner" addition. The consensus of the committee was this name change would encourage more participants working together as equal partners. In 2024 we partnered up 13 pairs of DAs. This is very positive as we work to support our FM administrative colleagues across the county.

2025 Transition in Department Administrator Leadership:

Amanda Williams is chair-elect of the Administrators' Steering Committee and will step into the chair role for 2025-26. Jill Borrall from the University of Iowa submitted her name for the chair-elect role for 2025-26. This will be presented at the Administrator's Business Meeting during the preconference. We are confident Jill will be confirmed for this role. We extend our gratitude to all the administrators who have shared their time and talents with us over the past year.

The chart below represents what we already know for 2025. There is no reason to suspect the roles will not be filled at/following the 2025 Annual Conference.

Chair; ADFM Board Member	Amanda Williams, University of Pennsylvania
Chair-Elect; ADFM Board Member	Jill Borrall, University of Iowa (pending member approval)
ADFM Finance Committee member	Megan McGhean, Oregon Health and Science University
Preconference Chair	Lacey Owens, UT San Antonio
Preconference Co-Chair	
Membership Chair	Hayley Evans, University of Illinois, Chicago
Membership Co-Chair	
Member at Large	
Member at Large	Roger Roper, Accountable Care Strategies, Carilion Clinic
Member at Large	Stephanie Barnett, University of Alabama

Thomas on an Thomas of the Control o	Nominations Chair	Holly Westog, Medical College of Wisconsin
--	-------------------	--